Asparagus with Spot Prawns on Quinoa

What a fast dinner! When I saw Don Genova’s blog post on the Cowichan Bay Spot Prawn Festival and followed his link to the pdf files of the recipes shared at the festival, I found one by Brock Windsor of the Stone Soup Inn. I had just stopped off at Pedrosa’s Asparagus Farm on my way home from work with a bag of very fresh asparagus, and I knew there were prawns in the freezer just crying to be consumed. With a bouquet of chive flowers on my kitchen table, I was set.

asparagus with spot prawns on quinoa by joinmefordinner

Here is Brock Windsor’s recipe with my adaptations:

Spot Prawns and Asparagus with Warm Chive and Oxeye Daisy Vinaigrette
For 4 servings:
Vinaigrette

  • 2 tbsp. chives, chopped
  • I tbsp. oxeye daisy leaf, chopped ( there were none growing in my yard, so I eliminated this and added chive flowers instead. I’m sure I’m missing an essential flavour, as I’m told these taste like sage, but the vinaigrette was still fantastic without this ingredient.)
  • 1 tbsp. grapeseed oil
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar (don’t substitute)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients, whisk together and season.

Prawns

  • 2 tbsp. grapeseed oil
  • about 2 dozen spot prawn tails
  • 24 spears local fresh asparagus
  1. Heat a large pan. When hot, add the oil and asparagus. Cook for a couple of minutes, then add the prawns and cook for a couple of minutes more until prawns are pink.
  2. Cool the pan slightly, then toss with the vinaigrette.
  3. I served this over quinoa. The vinaigrette was delicious and was just enough to flavour the quinoa.

Fresh!

Pedrosa’s Asparagus Farm in Cowichan Bay

About joinmefordinner

. . . living in the Cowichan Valley, cooking for my appreciative family and friends, and taking advantage of all this area has to offer including local organic produce, cheese, wine, artisan breads, and fresh-caught seafood.
This entry was posted in gluten-free, quinoa, seafood, vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asparagus with Spot Prawns on Quinoa

  1. Debbie says:

    Don’t tell me this is what we would have had for dinner Sat….so sorry we missed it (whatever your fare may have been) We must get together soon. I’m pretty sure it is now my turn.
    Deb

  2. We missed you and your great sense of humour, however we had lots of laughs. Love it when J laughs till she cries BEFORE she tells the story!

Comments are closed.