Starbuck’s Lemon Loaf with Rhubarb Compote

I liked the contrast of sweet and tart in this dessert. Rhubarb is at its peak right now, so harvest it before it goes to seed. While it is a good source of Vitamin C and fiber, its main attraction for me is that it means that spring is here so summer can’t be far behind. I wanted to make my own sorbet to go with this dessert, but I couldn’t find my ice cream maker so I purchased a tub of lemon sorbet. However, the ice cream maker eventually surfaced and now I’m on a quest to find the paddle for it. Once I have all the parts in one place I want to try making a sorbet using Venturi Schulze’s VerJus. Stay tuned.

Start with a big armful of fresh rhubarb.


8 stalks of fresh rhubarb into 1 inch chunks
2 – 3 cups of fresh or frozen strawberries
3/4 cup sugar
zest of one large orange
1/2 cup water

Combine all ingredients in a large saucepan. Bring to a simmer and gently cook until rhubarb is soft but still holds its shape. Cool and serve over Starbuck’s Lemon Loaf with a small scoop of lemon sorbet on the side.

Starbuck’s Lemon Loaf
1-1/2 cups flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3 eggs
1 cup sugar
2 tbsp. softened butter
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. lemon extract
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.
In a separate bowl, blend eggs, sugar, butter, vanilla, lemon extract, lemon juice and oil with an electric mixer.
Pour wet ingredients into dry ingredients and mix until smooth. Pour into a well-greased 9 x 5 loaf pan and bake for 45 minutes. Cool loaf in pan. Slice into 1″ slices. Serve topped with Rhubarb Compote and Lemon Sorbet.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in breads, desserts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starbuck’s Lemon Loaf with Rhubarb Compote

  1. Pingback: Sweet ‘n Salty Breakfast: Toasted Quinoa on Yogurt | joinmefordinner

Comments are closed.