Chocolate Cherry Coffee Cookies


Strength is the ability to break a chocolate bar into four pieces with your bare hands, and then only eat one of the pieces. Judith Viorst

Uh-oh! I KNEW as soon as I tasted this cookie dough I was in trouble. Big trouble! These are rich decadent sinful and addictive. I had to employ my new strategy of only baking one sheet and freezing the rest of the dough as I did for my last batch of yummy cookies. I’m terribly disappointed that my son-in-law has decided to shun all refined sugar. I mean, I have a massive amount of admiration for his self-discipline and his commitment to healthy living, but I could always count on him to finish off a batch of cookies for me, thereby allowing me to be self-disciplined and committed.

It’s actually all Costco’s fault. That woman who was offering samples of dried cherries and blueberries at Costco last week convinced me of their nutritional benefits. I was actually probably just plain hungry when I tossed the bag into my cart, but now the damage has been done. These are now my favourite cookie and I feel compelled to make them again . . . someday.

Makes 24

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon instant coffee granules
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips *
1 cup dried cherries

*resist the urge to follow your belief that if 1/2 cup of chocolate chips is a good thing then 1 cup would be even better. Too much chocolate makes a cookie that falls apart in your hand.

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper.
Combine flour, cocoa powder, and baking powder in a bowl.
Beat the butter and sugar together in a large bowl with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.
Beat the egg, coffee granules, and vanilla into the butter and sugar mixture until blended.
Mix in the flour mixture, beating until just combined.
Stir in semisweet chocolate chips and dried cherries.
Drop spoonfuls of the dough two inches apart onto the prepared baking sheets.
Bake 10 to 12 minutes, until cookies are just becoming firm.
Let cool on baking sheets for two minutes.
Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool completely.

Best Fabulous served warm.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes, mostly gluten-free, always delicious!
This entry was posted in cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Cherry Coffee Cookies

  1. laura says:

    save some for Saturday? πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: A New Adventure . . . and Some Exciting News! | joinmefordinner

Comments are closed.