Sweet ‘n Salty Breakfast: Toasted Quinoa on Yogurt

I am officially sick of my daily breakfast. I have the same thing every day: oatmeal with psyllium, walnuts, blueberries, and cinnamon. Cholesterol-lowering perhaps, but it is boring. When I spotted this recipe on food52, I knew I had to give it a try. I changed it a little and we loved it! It sounds a little strange but the sweet and salty combination is a great way to start the day.

Serves 2
1 tbsp. quinoa
10 shelled pistachios
10 almonds, chopped
1 cup 0% fat plain Greek yogurt (or the full-fat version, if you are so inclined)
4 Medjool dates, pitted and chopped
10 dried cherries
1 tsp. freshly grated lemon zest
Flaky sea salt or other coarse salt
2 tsp quality extra virgin olive oil

Toast the quinoa in a small frying pan over medium heat. When it starts to crackle and pop, remove from the heat as it will continue to brown in the pan and will burn easily if left on the heat too long.
Put half a cup of Greek yogurt in each of two bowls. Chop the nuts and dried fruit coarsely, grate a little lemon zest and sprinkle this mixture over the yogurt. Sprinkle with a little Fleur de Sel or other flaky sea salt and drizzle with a teaspoon of olive oil. Don’t leave out this last ingredient, even thought it sounds like extra fat. It ties all the ingredients together and adds another layer of flavour.

Update: After reading Kirsten’s recommendation to try Rhubarb Cinnamon Quinoa I decided to try a variation of my recipe. I toasted the quinoa as above, replaced the pistachios and almonds with walnuts (for that cholesterol-lowering benefit), deleted the dried fruits and olive oil and topped the yogurt with a strawberry-rhubarb compote I had in the frig.

For two:
2 tbsp. quinoa toasted (see above)
1 cup plain Greek yogurt
10 walnuts, chopped coarsely
1/2 cup strawberry-rhubarb compote

Put 1/2 cup of yogurt in a bowl, top with the compote, and sprinkle with walnuts and toasted quinoa.

Follow Me on Pinterest

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in breakfast, gluten-free, nuts, quinoa and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet ‘n Salty Breakfast: Toasted Quinoa on Yogurt

Comments are closed.