Warm Seafood Salad with Cajun Lime Butter



There is one food I don’t think I could live without.

Oranges.

They quench my thirst, satisfy my sugar cravings, and provide a burst of energy when I need a pick-me-up. I feel lucky that our local grocery store carries California Buck Brand citrus fruits, grown organically in the San Joaquin Valley. The story of their partnership with Thrifty Foods is an interesting one.
Today I was reminded once again about how fortunate we are to live here on the West Coast with an abundance of fresh seafood readily available. This dish uses sockeye salmon, scallops, crab and prawns from Cowichan Bay Seafood, but you could substitute any local seafood you have available. It pairs it with oranges, grapefruit, mandarinquats (say what???) and Meyer lemons, all imported from California and so incredibly flavourful.
This recipe seems like it has a lot of steps, but everything except cooking the seafood can be prepared ahead of time. It was worth the effort. I ordered a similar dish in a restaurant recently and have recreated it here with my own adaptations.

Salad
mixed greens
thinly sliced cucumbers
cherry tomatoes
sliced avocados
peeled and sliced organic oranges and grapefruit
thinly sliced mandarinquats (leave the peel on)

Lemon Vinaigrette

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1/4 cup freshly squeezed Meyer lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard
2 tbsp finely chopped shallots
1 tsp lemon zest
freshly ground salt and pepper

Seafood Ingredients
fresh cooked prawns (about 5 per person)
fresh seared scallops (about 5 per person) How do I sear scallops?
Sockeye salmon (enough for about 5 1-inch cubes per person)
fresh crab (a few chunks of leg meat per person)
smoked salmon (a few small cubes per person)

Lime Butter Sauce
In a small fry pan:
melt 1/2 cup butter
2 cloves minced garlic
a drop of Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoon chopped cilantro
juice of one fresh lime
1 tsp. lime zest
Whisk together and heat just a few minutes on low.
Gently toss the cooked salmon cubes, scallops and prawns to coat.

Arrange the salad greens and vegetables on dinner plates. Top with the warm seafood tossed in the lime butter, then the citrus fruits. Drizzle with the lemon vinaigrette and serve immediately.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in salad dressing, salads, seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Warm Seafood Salad with Cajun Lime Butter

  1. leanneregan says:

    I wish we lived near a place to get all these lovely fresh ingredients! We can get them in England but with a huge carbon footprint ๐Ÿ™‚ Great recipe!

    • I know I’m lucky to live here, and I don’t take it for granted. Being able to shop locally and know the source of my food is important to me. Thanks for the follow! I’m looking forward to checking out your recipes too.

  2. Susan Gillingam says:

    David and I love your dinners & all the creative ideas I can take home. Food inventions. You really are an artist with food. Does this mean we’ll get invited back soon? Happy creating & thanks for sharing. You’re making me a better cook in spite of myself.
    Susan

  3. And we love it when you join us for dinner! Thanks for being my “guinea pigs” when I try out new dishes.

Comments are closed.