My New Baby! Now what do I do with it?

Gotta love internet shopping! Click, click, wait a few days and pick it up at the post office. (Think how I’m reducing my carbon footprint.) On Maia’s recommendation, I ordered this Excalibur food dehydrator and it arrived yesterday. It has 9 trays and comes with a very comprehensive book. I’m seeking YOUR ideas for the most successful foods to dry. What do YOU use it for? All ideas and tips will be welcomed!

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in preserving/drying food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My New Baby! Now what do I do with it?

  1. Linda says:

    You would have fun doing my idea with Lexi!! I sliced up oranges, grapefruits and apples (all on the round and make sure you get the seeds of the apples in there as well) and dehydrated them for xmas tree ornaments. After they were dried, I put a deco podge on them (Martha Stewart from Micheals) and sprinkled a fine crystal glitter (also Martha Stewart) on them all. Make sure to make the hole so you can put your ribbon through it before they dry. They turned out beautiful and I put one of each in a special little box for hostess gifts. Oh, and you can sprinkle scented oil from the body shop on them for that extra Christmas touch. They look beautiful hanging on the tree and the crystal glitter makes them sparkle.

  2. Wow! I was only thinking about eating! Those sound like gorgeous decorations. Thanks for a fabulous idea. This would be great for my class at Christmas time too.

  3. Chantal says:

    So exciting! Graham says pineapple and mango but I’ve always been a sucker for apple chips. This will be fantastic for when you have a garden this summer…dried herbs, “sundried” tomatoes…yum!

  4. We’ve already polished off 2 trays of apple chips with cinnamon! The house smelled heavenly when they were drying.

  5. cbandj says:

    very, very jealous! I am cut off from buying kitchen equipment until next year and I hope to get one of these!!

Comments are closed.