Beans ‘n Greens Burritos–Canadian Style!


As Canadians, we often describe our country as being a “mosaic” of different cultures. The term is used to describe the mix of ethnic groups and languages that exist side by side in Canada. This meal can only be described as a mosaic of foods from different cultures! When looking for inspiration to create my own twist on Mark Bittman’s Beans and Greens Burritos, (this week’s Food Matters Project challenge), I spotted a fresh bunch of greens that I had never seen before in the grocery store. The cashier apparently hadn’t either because I had to spell out the name of it for her (m-e-h-t-i), tell her the price, “It’s $1.69,” and then wait while she called the Produce Manager for verification. When I returned home, I had to google “mehti” to discover that they are the greens from the fenugreek plant, a common ingredient in Indian cuisine. On my counter I assembled black beans, spinach tortillas (Mexico), bean sprouts (Asia) and Monterey Jack cheese with Jalapenos and Habaneros (Tex-Mex). What an intercultural mix!

But you know what? It worked. I am NOT a burrito fan, but we really enjoyed these. We served them with homemade Salsa Verde and snuck in some sour cream.

Serves 4 (or more)

Ingredients
1 tbsp. grapeseed oil
1 medium onion, finely diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 19 oz. (540 ml) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1-2 tsp. chipotle sauce, salt and pepper

spinach tortillas
fresh mehti leaves, stems removed
fresh bean sprouts
grated Monterey Jack Cheese with Jalapenos and Habaneros

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 F.
Heat oil in a frying pan. Saute onion until transparent, add garlic and cook another minute or two. Reduce heat. Add drained and rinsed beans, chipotle sauce, salt and pepper and mash with a potato masher, mixing ingredients together.
Meanwhile, heat tortillas in foil in oven until warmed. Spread bean mixture on one third of the tortilla, top with cheese, mehti leaves, bean sprouts and a dollop of sour cream. Roll up and serve with salsa.

You can view the original recipe here on Jacqui’s beautiful blog goodthingsgrow and be sure to check out the other Food Matters Project bloggers’ variations on this recipe here.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in Food Matters Project recipes, vegetarian meals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Beans ‘n Greens Burritos–Canadian Style!

  1. auracaplett says:

    I’ve never heard of mehti before–did you like the flavor? My brother is an organic farmer–bet I could get him to grow some for me if it is worth a try!

  2. Jacqui says:

    I love trying new greens out too. Glad they worked out in your burrito!

  3. Margarita says:

    Oooh… I like the addition of fresh bean sprouts! I love bean sprouts but would never have thought of putting them in burritos. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. That is fun! I have a great slow cooker recipe for an Indian dish that uses Chicken and Mehti – it’s fabulous but I have a hard time finding them here.

  5. I’ve never heard of mehti- but now I want to find some and cook with it! Thanks for the tip and finding a fun new ingredient!

  6. prairiesummers says:

    I don’t think I have ever seen mehti in a store around here. Looks great!

Comments are closed.