Chia ‘n Cheese Cherry Tomato Crisp

Wow! I was blindsided by this recipe. This dish didn’t sound particularly appealing to me, maybe because the word “crisp” conjures up images of sweet fruit bubbling up through a crunchy topping. It was surprisingly delicious, however, and received thumbs up from the critics around the Sunday night dinner table.
Savory Tomato Crisp was the recipe Nicole chose for this week’s Food Matters Project challenge. Head over to her blog to check Mark Bittman’s original recipe and check out all the participants’ variations of this recipe on the Food Matters Project page.
Finding new ways to use chia seeds seems to be my new personal food-related challenge lately. I’m now convinced of the benefits of chia seeds, so I’m seeking different ways to incorporate them into my diet. I decided it wouldn’t hurt to toss them into the crisp topping in this recipe, and that idea was a good one.
While garden-fresh tomatoes aren’t in season here yet, grape tomatoes from California or Mexico are readily available and they are sooooo sweet. I left the tomatoes whole, and I’m glad I did. They retained their shape in the oven and it was a nice surprise to poke through the crust and find the tomatoes hiding there, looking just the same as when I covered them up, but now warm and soft.

Serves 8

Ingredients

  • 4 cups cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 1 cup finely ground whole grain bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated Mozzarella cheese
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley leaves, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons fresh basil leaves, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons  extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • coarse salt and ground pepper, to taste

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Stir together all ingredients except tomatoes, or combine them in a food processor, pulsing until finely chopped.
Pack cherry tomatoes into individual oven-proof ramekins and sprinkle with crumb mixture. You could also make this in an 8″ x 8″ baking dish. Bake until the crust is browned and the tomatoes are tender, 20 to 25 minutes. Serve warm.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in side dishes, vegetables, vegetarian meals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chia ‘n Cheese Cherry Tomato Crisp

  1. I love your additions to the recipe—especially the chia seed and the herbs.

  2. Margarita says:

    I used grape tomatoes too, when I crave tomatoes so bad I resort to the grape ones from Mexico coz they are just as good as in season ones. Love the chia seed addition.

  3. What a cute way to add them into the little ramekins! I think I had the same problem as you did- this recipe did not sound appealing. But now that everyone’s made it, I can’t wait for our tomatoes to be in season- I’ll make it then!

  4. prairiesummers says:

    I love the idea of the chia seeds in the dish!

Comments are closed.