Peachy-Coconut Sorbet

When I was a kid,  a peach tree grew against our house right beside my bedroom window. While it seemed to me to be an endless source of angst for my dad, dealing with peach curl, earwigs, and fallen fruit, all I remember was the sheer joy of biting into that warm sun-ripened fruit and having it dribble down my chin.

Actually, that’s not true. I also remember having to help my Mom can those things. Struggling to get the peels off perfectly without cutting into the fruit, filling the jars with uniform halves and dealing with hot jars on sultry August afternoons is not a fond memory, but having canned peaches in the middle of winter made it all worth it.
I was remembering those times today while peeling peaches for my peach sorbet. This week’s Food Matters Project challenge was to come up with a new take on Mark Bittman’s Raspberry Cabernet Sorbet, recipe chosen by Jennifer of  Simple and Amazing.
Since peaches are available here now and I had some leftover CabSav, I decided to simply combine the two. This sorbet had an “adult” taste and would be fabulous as a palate cleanser at a formal dinner, but as I sampled it straight out of my ice cream maker, I realized it didn’t leave me craving more.

So, I started again. This time, I left out the wine and added full-fat coconut milk instead. Much better! Much creamier. It looks prettier too.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup very ripe peaches, coarsely chopped (about 2 peaches)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup full-fat coconut milk

Directions:

Make a simple syrup by combining the water and sugar in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil and let it boil for at least a minute until the sugar is completely dissolved. Remove from heat. Add the peaches and coconut milk. Puree in a food processor until smooth. Pour into an ice cream maker and freeze. If you don’t have an ice cream maker (and you don’t need one for this recipe) simply pour it into an 8 x 8 pan and freeze, stirring every 20 minutes or so until frozen.

I served this with Lace Cookies with Honey and Ginger.

See the original recipe on Jennifer’s blog and be sure to check all the other participant’s variations on the Food Matters Project page.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in desserts, Food Matters Project recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Peachy-Coconut Sorbet

  1. Lena says:

    The peach coconut combination sounds a lot better than peaches with wine. I just love the ideas I get here for sorbets that don’t require a ice cream maker!

  2. FledglingFoodie says:

    I’m dying to do this again with coconut milk after seeing this and Jennifer’s second sorbet! Great choice to use fresh peaches, too.

  3. vanillalemon says:

    This came out with such a beautiful colour! Great I idea to use coconut milk!

  4. Love the combo of coconut milk and peaches!

  5. prairiesummers says:

    I cannot wait for the peach season. They are good in everything haha

Comments are closed.