Non-Paleo, Full of Gluten, Refined Sugar Blubarb Crumble

Blueberry-Rhubarb Crumble aka Blubarb Crumble

This one won’t meet the criteria of the paleo, gluten-free, sugar-free, vegan Pinterest boards, but it sure tastes good.

I’m a firm believer that you are what you eat. I’m careful about what goes in my mouth. I do my best to eat nutritious organic food that is grown or produced locally. Sometimes, however, it’s comforting to “take a food vacation” and simply enjoy an old-fashioned dessert.

It’s also good to clean out the freezer to make room for this year’s fruit and vegetables. Am I the only one who forgets about things I so carefully froze a year ago? A bag of diced rhubarb and one of blueberries found hiding at the bottom of my deep freeze became unlikely partners in this dessert. Sweet berries and tart rhubarb cooperated nicely and produced a great crumble that complemented our Spring Chicken meal.

Filling Ingredients
3 cups blueberries
3 cups diced rhubarb
1/2 cup sugar
1 Tbsp. corn starch
1 tsp. lemon juice
1/2 tsp. salt

Topping Ingredients
3/4 cup flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 tsp. baking soda
6 Tbsp. unsalted butter
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Make the filling by mixing the blueberries, rhubarb, sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice, and salt in a bowl. Transfer to an 8-inch square baking dish.

Prepare the topping by stirring together flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Cream butter and sugar in a mixer until pale and fluffy. Stir dry ingredients into butter. Using your hands, squeeze topping pieces together into clumps.

Sprinkle topping evenly over filling. Bake until bubbling in center and brown on top, about 1 hour. Transfer to a wire rack, and let cool for 30 minutes before serving.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Non-Paleo, Full of Gluten, Refined Sugar Blubarb Crumble

  1. I do so much work with clients that is reduced fat / alternative protein / or just odd starched, that I almost feel guilty when I cook “full on” for myself. Here’s to ya for grabbing that full fat cow by the horns!

    I’m really liking the blueberry / rhubarb mash-up. The mutant gargantuan blueberries we get here are sometimes too cloyingly sweet to use sometimes and that sour kick from the rhubarb would be just the ticket to knock them in line.

  2. thanks! I usually combine rhubarb with strawberries but the blueberries were a great alternative. No guilt here–just sheer enjoyment 🙂 Besides, think of all the antioxidants in those blueberries.

Comments are closed.