Gin Gingered Spot Prawns

Gin Gingered Spot Prawns by Join Me For Dinner

Where do you usually get YOUR ideas for meals? Cookbooks? Food blogs? Pinterest?
All of the above?

Me too.

But today, my idea for dinner appetizer came from an unlikely source: a quick chat before a meeting. Even before a fellow foodie was finished enthusiastically describing this dish to me, I had already planned my trip to the store to get the necessary ingredients. I knew from her description that this one was a “keeper”.

The recipe is credited to Diane Clement, author of Diane Clement at the Tomato

She advises: “Prepare this dish at the last minute in front of your guests so the aroma of the ginger, gin and onion tantalizes their taste buds.”

Saute the prawns til barely opaque, then add the ginger and gin

Ingredients:

  • 4 to 5 tbsps. unsalted butter
  • 2/3 cup finely chopped green onion
  • 30 medium-sized raw prawns, peeled (see note below*)
  • 1 to 2 tbsps. pickled Japanese gingers, well drained
  • 3 tbsps. gin, or a couple of splashes
  • 1 loaf baguette bread, thinly sliced and warmed

Directions:
Just before serving: Melt butter in large fry pan. Add onions and sautรฉ briefly. Add prawns and sautรฉ only until lightly opaque. Add ginger and gin and continue to cook for a minute or two longer, just until prawns are opaque. Do not overcook. Serve with toothpicks or in scallop shells (or in my case, with lots of napkins!) Pass warm bread for dipping into the sauce.

Notes:

1. For more people, if you increase the number of prawns, you must also increase the amount of sauce. There must be plenty for dipping.
2. We always serve our prawns peeled. Always. Except for tonight apparently.
I was so anxious to get this dish started, that I only gave the recipe a cursory glance and later read that the prawns should be peeled. Oh well.
3. Drizzling in a little of the pickled ginger juice for extra flavour was also recommended to me. Good idea. It really gave it more of a punch.
4. I used our local artisanal Victoria Gin, made in Victoria, BC. You really must taste it to believe it.
Gin Gingered Spot Prawns with Warm Baguette
The greatest reward of creating in the kitchen is being able to gather with friends and family around the table to share my offerings. Sharing ideas for serving food is simply something I enjoy. Today I discovered that someone who is as passionate about teaching young children as I am also shares my passion for cooking. Thanks for sharing this dish, Maureen!

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in appetizers, seafood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gin Gingered Spot Prawns

  1. Eha says:

    Absolutely delightful: reminds me of the oft tableside cooking in most restaurants yesteryear! What fun!! Now, i would peel the prawns, but leave on the tails and, methinks, everyone would be happy!!! So simple ๐Ÿ™‚ !

    • You’re so right! The cookbook was published in 1995 so this recipe is an oldie but a goodie. We’ll be sailing in the Broughton Archipelago this summer, and I’m envisioning making this dish on the boat with fresh-caught prawns.

      • Eha says:

        Hope you do not mind my using and passing on a ‘oldie but a goodie’! Hmm: hate to tell you, but my memories go back longer than that as do my cookbooks and recipes ๐Ÿ˜€ ! Have a wonderful sail when the time comes . . .

  2. Pingback: A New Adventure . . . and Some Exciting News! | joinmefordinner

Comments are closed.