Naked Fried Bananas

Naked Fried Bananas

Just like the next person, I love to get a deal. While today’s saving was only a few dollars, I felt like I hit the jackpot when I found a huge bag of beautifully ripe (overripe, apparently) bananas for $2.99 at my local farmer’s market. When I’ve cashed in on these before, I usually just slice them up, lay them out on a parchment lined baking sheet, freeze, bag, and then use them in smoothies. Today since I had 19 of them (yes, 19 for $2.99, do the math . . .) I decided to venture out of my box.

I fried them. This recipe uses no sugar at all, and less than a teaspoon of oil. Caramelizing the bananas this way brings out their natural sugar. All you need to do is heat a tiny bit of oil (I use coconut oil) in a fry pan, just enough to coat the bottom of the pan. While it’s heating, slice a banana on the diagonal, toss gently with cinnamon and transfer it to the pan. Make sure that it sizzles. If it’s sizzling hot, the bananas won’t absorb the oil. Fry for about 1 minute on each side, then remove from the pan and serve. Good with a little toasted unsweetened coconut, or finely chopped nuts, or simply naked!

Hmmm . . . a little Kahlua drizzled on top wouldn’t hurt either.
Naked Fried Bananas by JoinMeForDinner

For more easy recipes like this, please Like me on Facebook, follow my Pinterest boards, or follow this blog with BlogLovin’. Check the sidebar. You know. Up there.

You may also like:

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in breakfast, desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.