Weekend Favourites

I spent a lot more time at home this weekend than I usually do. Besides getting caught up on a lot of things that I have been meaning to do forever, like getting to the very bottom of the laundry hamper (even those red shirts that have to be washed separately) and using the pumpkin that I pureed last week and vacuuming way in deep between the washer and dryer, I found some treasures online that I thought I’d share.

First, this article pretty much sums up how I feel about cooking from scratch. We have very fond memories of staying at the author’s B&B near Assisi, Italy and we raise our glasses to her whenever we make our own pasta.

In Letizia's kitchen in her B&B near Assisi, Italy learning to make pasta

In Letizia’s kitchen in her B&B near Assisi, Italy learning to make pasta

She makes a very valid point in this article. Why not? Spending a little time to stock up on staples allows you to reap the benefits of fresh, healthy meals that you can feel good about feeding your family. Knowing exactly what is in my food and reducing my carbon footprint by using locally produced and non-packaged food whenever possible makes me feel like I’m doing the right thing. We used to make our own yogurt regularly, but we have drifted away from our routine for some reason. We realized last week just how many plastic containers we’ve been using and how these could be completely eliminated if we went back to making our own. I have a Waring yogurt maker, which I’m going to haul out of my kitchen cupboard, but I’m told you can also make yogurt in a food dehydrator.

Next, I tried this for the first time. Yowza! Loved it. I bought the Blood Orange. Next one is going to be Grapefruit Sage. I might even follow my own advice and try making it myself by following these directions, although that scoby sounds a little weird.

Food 52 came popping into my inbox this morning and this sure looked good, so I got hubby to crack open a whole whack of hazelnuts and I made this Not Just Another Quinoa Salad to have with our dinner.

Quinoa Salad 2

And that pumpkin puree? I adapted this recipe by reducing the sugar, using spelt instead of kamut and added pumpkin seeds and dried cranberries and made some healthy muffins for lunches this week.
Pumpkin muffins

Have a great week, everyone!

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in Favourites lists, vegetarian meals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.