Cheese Crispies–revamped

Cheese Crispies

Remember the old Cheese Krispies recipe from the 50’s or 60’s? I loved those things. My mom made them every year at Christmas time as part of an appetizer tray and we devoured them, batch after batch. I had a craving for these the other day when I was searching for finger food ideas.  I was excited when I found her old recipe on a scrap of paper, written in her beautiful handwriting, but that’s where my excitement stopped. Margarine? I remember vividly the blocks of paper wrapped Parkay margarine that she used in her baking. We don’t touch the stuff. Rice Krispies? A quick glance at the ingredients list on the package convinced me that I either had to abandon this recipe or adapt it.

I did a quick online search and BINGO! Here’s a slightly healthier recipe (or one that at least contains fewer additives) that I found by on Food52 and have copied here.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour, sifted
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika (or more to taste)
  • 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt (or more to taste)
  • 1 cup panko bread crumbs

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and line cookie sheets with parchment.
  2. Put flour, butter, cheese, cayenne, paprika and salt into food processor and pulse till completely blended and a ball forms. Taste for seasoning and adjust.
  3. Add panko and process in small pulses (as few as possible) to incorporate panko into dough. (Note: This didn’t work for me, so I put the cheese mixture in a bowl and worked the panko into it with a wooden spoon.)
  4. Scoop small balls of dough (about 1/2 teaspoon) and roll in the palm of your hand. Place on cookie sheet and flatten with fork or spatula. (You can also roll the dough out about 1/2 inch thick and use small cookie cutters.) Sprinkle the tops with smoked paprika and more salt if desired.
  5. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes until the bottom is lightly browned and the crisps are cooked through. (I like these best when they are on the well-done side, so you may bake them a little longer–just watch carefully so they don’t burn.)
  6. Remove from cookie sheet and cool on wire rack. Store in an air-tight container, or freeze.
About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in appetizers, Christmas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheese Crispies–revamped

  1. Pingback: Christmas Finger Foods | joinmefordinner

Comments are closed.