Chocolate Chunk Whipped Shortbread

Chocolate Chunk Whipped Shortbread

I have a classroom elf. No, not an Elf on the Shelf–I have one of those too. This elf is a lovely parent volunteer, actually a grandmother, who comes in to help out in my Grade 1 classroom. She is one of the most thoughtful people I have ever met and the kids in my class love her. Whenever she comes, she brings me a little gift, despite my insistence that it is not necessary. Her justification? She maintains that you never arrive at someone’s home without bringing something and since my classroom is like my home, I deserve to receive a present when she comes.

One day, she arrived with a packet of these cookies. “They’re nice with tea,” she said. “Take them home and share them with your hubby.” I decided to sample one–just one, after school while preparing my lessons for the following day.

Did they ever make it home?

Not on your life.

Makes about 4 dozen cookies. These freeze well.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups coarsely chopped quality chocolate (milk chocolate or semi-sweet)
  • icing sugar, for dusting

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 300F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
2. Beat the butter with an electric mixer until very light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.
3. Add the sugar and continue beating until it is completely combined, 2 to 3 minutes more.
4. In a separate bowl, combine the flour and cornstarch. Add to the butter mixture gradually and beat on low speed until combined.
5. Stir in the chocolate chunks.
6. Place dough by mounded tablespoons on the prepared sheets about 2 inches apart.
7. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.
8. Cool on wire rack. Dust with icing sugar when cool.

Warning 🙂 Don’t make these without the chocolate. They’re just not sweet enough.

Melt-in-your-mouth whipped shortbread with quality chocolate chunkiness

Melt-in-your-mouth whipped shortbread with quality chocolate chunkiness

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in Christmas, cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chunk Whipped Shortbread

  1. Denis says:

    Nope-Never even saw them!
    Hubby

Comments are closed.