Top 10 Reader Favourites of 2013

Have you noticed that having a Christmas tree in your room makes you sit and read more often? The soft light from the tree invites me to curl up on the couch and lose myself in a book, (or in my laptop).  This dark time of year provides an opportunity to reflect on all the things for which I am grateful, and I have such an abundance. It’s also a time to look ahead to the new year and the adventures it holds, and this year I’m almost giddy with excitement about what’s to come in 2014.

One of the many things I am thankful for is this blog and my readers. It’s been fun sharing food experiences with you, and even more fun hearing that you made one of the recipes. Studying the site statistics showed that the following were the top 10 most viewed recipes of the past year on Join Me For Dinner.

Readers’ Favourite Finger Foods

Mini Cheese Balls on a Stick Mini Cheese Balls I’m not surprised that this post received so many views. These things are the easiest appetizer ever. Besides that, they’re awfully cute. rosemary crackers by joinmefordinner Rosemary Gruyère Sea Salt Crisps  I cannot count the number of times I’ve whipped these up in my kitchen this year. The recipe comes from the beautiful (and worth every penny) Smitten Kitchen cookbook, so I wasn’t surprised to see just how many of you viewed this post too.

Readers’ Favourite Dinners

favourite dinner dishes1. Baked (Not Fried) Zucchini Patties with Dill Sauce  Really? Zucchini is that popular? Or maybe we just find ourselves with such an abundance that we don’t know what to do with it all. These patties are delicious. This summer I also discovered that they make a fantastic pre-dinner snack when made into mini patties. Great finger food for camping or boating too.

2. West Coast Seafood Chowder Our go-to chowder recipe. Add whatever seafood you like or find fresh in the market.

3. The Best Chicken Kabob Marinade This one has consistently been my most-viewed post every month, thanks to Pinterest, despite the fact that it is not a great photo.

Readers’ Favourite Desserts

In the Dessert category, mini desserts topped the list. Shot glass desserts were the favourites. We all want a taste, but a taste is enough, right? Top Desserts of 20131. Lemon Meringue Pie in a Shot Glass

2. Kahlua (or Limoncello) Cheesecake in a Shot Glass

3. Raspberry Mint Yogurt Parfait in a Shot Glass

My Favourite Meal of 2013

Why? It’s a salad. It features smoked salmon. And best of all, I was able to use all fresh local ingredients, many directly from my garden. Pacific Coast Nicoise Salad Pacific Coast Nicoise Salad

And let’s end with

My Favourite Dessert of the year:

Goat Cheesecake with Almond-Crisped Peaches Goat Cheesecake with Almond Crisped Peaches Light and creamy with a sweet crunchy topping, this cheesecake brings back warm summer memories of August birthdays in my family.

Wishing you all the best in the coming year! What will be on your dinner table in 2014? Old favourites? New dishes to try?

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in Favourites lists and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top 10 Reader Favourites of 2013

  1. That West Coast Seafood Chowder is perfect! Happy New Year 🙂

Comments are closed.