Chocolate Quinoa Cake–(gluten-free)

First taste of chocolateHis first taste of chocolate. Need I say more?

I’ve been conspicuously absent from this blog for two months. Changes in my diet left me uninspired to collect and hang on to recipes and new food combos to post here. But now that I’ve settled in and found my groove, I’m back to invent and create in the kitchen once again.

Ever heard of The Plan? Lyn-Genet Recita’s book of the same name struck a chord with me. In fact, it’s the first eating plan I’ve read that really made sense to me. Once I heard about it, I ordered the Kindle book and got started right away. The Plan is NOT a weight-loss program. It’s a system of finding which foods do not agree with you–which ones cause an inflammatory response, therefore affecting your weight, your health, and your aging process. Interested? You can read a short description of it here.

The Plan

While I’ve never been severely overweight, I’ve been carrying an extra 10 pounds around for the last 5 years or so. Exercise and restricting calories didn’t seem to have any effect. However, I lost 8 pounds in the first 16 days following the recommendations outlined in The Plan. I discovered (even though I had shunned what I considered the gluten-free “craze”) that wheat is my culprit. Once I eliminated it from my diet, the weight fell off and I’ve had more energy. As far as I can tell, it is only wheat that causes an inflammatory response in me as oats and rye caused no reaction, so I have not had to restrict myself to a totally gluten-free diet.

That’s a long-winded round-about way of saying that I’ll be including more wheat-free and gluten-free recipes in this little space over the next few months as I work on replacing my old favourite foods. And here’s the first:

Chocolate Quinoa Cake (adapted from Quinoa 365) Gluten-free

Chocolate Quinoa Cake.jpg

Serves about 16.

The best thing about this cake is that you can substitute many of the ingredients according to your dietary needs or preferences. You can use whatever kind of milk or sugar you prefer, and you can use 3/4 cup of butter (instead of combining the butter and coconut oil).

No, actually the best thing about this cake is the way it tastes! It is seriously chocolatey and fudgy and surprisingly decadent. Don’t expect light and fluffy and you will not be disappointed.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa (see note below)
  • 1/3 cup milk (almond, coconut, or cow’s milk)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/4 cup melted organic coconut oil
  • 1 cup organic cane sugar (or refined sugar)
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Whipped Chocolate Coconut Cream Frosting

  •  1 (14 ounce) can full-fat organic coconut milk, refrigerated overnight
  • 1 (10 ounce) bag chocolate chips

Directions

1. Cook quinoa. 3/4 cup of quinoa cooked in 2 cups water will yield approximately 2 cups of cooked quinoa. Spread out on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet and cool.

2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two 8″ round pans or one 9 x 13″ pan with parchment paper.

3. Mix the milk, eggs and vanilla in a blender or food processor.

4. Add the cooked and cooled quinoa, butter, and coconut oil to the blender. This is where a high-speed blender like a Vitamix or a Blendtec comes in handy, as it will grind the cooked quinoa, preventing a lumpy texture in the cooked cake.

5. Sift the sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and sea salt in a large bowl.

6. Add the wet ingredients from the blender to the dry ingredients in the bowl and mix until thoroughly combined. Divide equally between the two pans, spreading to the edges.

7. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Remove, let cool in pans for 10 minutes, then invert on cake racks and remove the parchment paper. Let cool before frosting with:

Whipped Chocolate Coconut Cream Frosting.

8. To make the frosting, melt the chocolate over low heat in a medium pot. Remove the can of coconut milk from the refrigerator. Carefully open it and scoop the hardened milk from the can into the pot. Stir until melted and combined. Remove from heat, let cool. When cool, beat with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. (Soooo good!)

9. Dust your serving plate with a little icing sugar to prevent sticking. Place the first layer upside down and frost. Top with the second layer and finish frosting the top and sides.  Serves about 16, as it is very filling. Packed with protein and gooey goodness. Judging by the look on the little guy’s face, I think it will become a family favourite.

Follow my Gluten-Free board on Pinterest here.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in cakes, desserts, gluten-free, quinoa and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Quinoa Cake–(gluten-free)

  1. Good for you for focusing on your health and how to feel better. I look forward to learning more about this plan and your journey and the new recipes along the way. -Laura

Leave your comments below.

