Rhubarb-Ginger Ice Cream

Rhubarb-Ginger Ice Cream

Let me just start by saying that I love my Vitamix. I really, really love it. I know I’m not the only one who has an infatuation with this kitchen appliance. Just ask anyone who owns one and I’m willing to bet they feel the same. (And no, I don’t sell them. This is not a sales pitch.)

I can whip up smoothies,  dressings, soups, dips and aiolis, sauces, cocktails and nut butters. If I’ve run out of icing sugar, I can turn some granulated sugar into powder in less than a minute. I can whip cream in seven seconds. Wait . . . there’s more! I can grind my own flour–wheat, quinoa, rice, almond–you name it. But best of all, I can make sorbet and ice cream in 2 minutes flat.

It’s rhubarb season, people! What do we always do? We mix it with strawberries and make strawberry-rhubarb pie or strawberry-rhubarb crumble or strawberry-rhubarb muffins. It’s time to branch out and think outside the box! Tonight we had this delicately flavoured rhubarb-ginger ice cream for dessert. It tastes fresh, like spring.

Rhubarb-Ginger Ice Cream
Serves 4-6
Ingredients

  • 1 cup milk (half and half, whole milk, coconut milk or almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup rhubarb
  • 1 inch long knob of fresh ginger root
  • 4 cups ice cubes

Directions

  1. Place all ingredients in the Vitamix.
  2. Start at Variable 1, then quickly increase to Variable 10 and then to High. You will need the tamper to press the ice into the blades.
  3. After about 30-60 seconds, listen for a change in the sound of the motor and watch for 4 mounds to form. Stop the machine at this point. If you keep on mixing, it will begin to melt.
  4. Serve immediately.
About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in desserts, gluten-free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments below.

