Rhubarb Crumble with Grand Fir Whipped Cream #gluten-free

 

Rhubarb Crumble with Grand Fir Whipped Cream.jpg

My back yard forest has exploded with green and filled in all of the barren gaps left by the winter. I have a host of plants to forage here, most of which I’m just learning about. A few years ago, one of our local chefs prepared a rhubarb compote and topped it with whipping cream flavored with Grand Fir shoots but he didn’t provide instructions!

This week I decided to tackle it. I snipped some of the most tender shoots from one of my Grand Fir trees and tried making a tea by pouring boiling water over it. I let it sit on the counter overnight, but it just didn’t seem to have enough flavour. Dumped it.

Next I did the same, but I reduced the amount of water to about 3 tablespoons and squeezed the shoots as I drained them a few hours later. Good, but then I realized it was going to make the whipping cream much too runny. Dumped it.

Finally, I put some fresh shoots in my Vitamix, poured in some heavy cream and a little sugar and just blended the hell out of it.

I think I like it. I’ll let the ones who will eat it for dessert decide for themselves.

Rhubarb Crumble with Grand Fir Whipping Cream
Serves 6 – 8

Ingredients
for the topping

  • 1 1/3 cups gluten-free flour (or all-purpose flour)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 6 Tbsp. coconut palm sugar
  • zest of one organic lemon
  • 1/2 cup melted butter

Combine all ingredients. Mix until clumpy, then refrigerate while preparing the filling.
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

 Fruit Filling

  • 1 1/2 cups rhubarb, chopped in 3/4 inch pieces
  • 4 cups strawberries, hulled and quartered
  • juice of one organic lemon
  • 1/2 cup sugar (type of your choice)
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  1. Combine all filling ingredients in a deep baking dish.
  2. Cover thickly with the topping.
  3. Since it will likely boil over, protect your oven by placing the dish on a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake till top is golden brown and fruit bubbles up, about 45 minutes. Best served warm. Top with Grand Fir Whipped Cream.Grand Fir Whipped Cream.jpgGrand Fir Infused Whipping Cream
  • 500 ml. (2 cups) heavy cream
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar (or to taste)
  • about 1/2 – 3/4 cup freshly picked Grand Fir shoots

Don't confuse with Douglas Fir.

Don’t confuse with Douglas Fir.

The needles on Grand Fir lie flat, not whorled as on Douglas Fir

The needles on Grand Fir are flat, not whorled as on Douglas Fir

Toss all in a high-speed blender. Select Variable speed, quickly turn to 10, then to High Speed. Watch carefully as it will only take about 10 -20 seconds to whip. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Grand Fir Whipped Cream.jpg

 

 

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in desserts, gluten-free, wild foods and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rhubarb Crumble with Grand Fir Whipped Cream #gluten-free

  1. This looks so good! Can you really whip cream in a blender? I’ll have to try that…

    • I doubt if it would whip in a regular blender, but I used my Vitamix (high-speed) with success. Since this post I’ve had varying degrees of success whipping coconut milk in my Vitamix. It seems to depend on the brand of coconut milk and how chilled it is. Sometimes it’s been successful, other times it’s flopped.

Leave your comments below.

