Blueberry Coconut Smoothie with Fresh Ginger

BlueberrySmoothie with Fresh Ginger by JoinMeForDinner

Choices. Every day I’m able to make choices about my diet, my health or my activities. One day earlier this week I considered being lazy by picking up a few packages of blueberries at my local supermarket but, thankfully, I banished that thought from my mind, smartened up and headed for a U-Pick Blueberry Farm.
Steld Farmkids yes dogs no
Good choice. Great choice! Branches drooping, heavy with ripe fruit, just begging to be picked, warm sunshine, and two little girls excited to be filling their buckets (and their mouths) with fresh sweet blueberries were all things that combined to make a perfect morning. Buying blueberries at the store would have been faster, but could you imagine missing this “sister moment”?

Sister Love. Taking a break in the blueberry patch.

Sister Love. Taking a break in the blueberry patch.

Every morning I can make choices about how to begin my day. On this particular day, I made a great choice to head outside and pick my own berries and as a result, my morning was filled with laughter and love. A healthy smoothie is usually what I choose for breakfast. This Blueberry Coconut Smoothie is full of antioxidants and is a perfect way to be kind to your body and give it what it needs. Often when you add kale or spinach to a smoothie it turns into an unappetizing brownish sludgy-looking thing, but the colour of the blueberries dominate in this one. Try it tomorrow while blueberries are plentiful and readily available. Freeze them now for the winter and you’ll be able to begin your day with memories of warm summer mornings.

Blueberry Coconut Smoothie with Fresh Ginger
Serves 1

Ingredients
1/2 cup frozen blueberries
handful of kale (or spinach)
1 cup unsweetened coconut (or almond) milk
2 Tbsp. yogurt
1 Tbsp. melted coconut oil
1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger
2 teaspoons honey
2 ice cubes
fresh mint, for garnish

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Pour into a glass, garnish with fresh mint and detox!



So . . . what’s your favourite smoothie combo? Is there something you add to yours every day? What else do you eat to start your day off right? Share your ideas in the comments section so we can all benefit.
Blueberry Ginger Smoothie
For more easy recipes like this, please Like me on Facebook, follow my Pinterest boards, and subscribe to my new site Flavour and Savour.

About Flavour and Savour @flavourandsavour.com

clean-eating recipes from my island home
This entry was posted in beverages, breakfast and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave your comments below.

