Matcha Mint Smoothie

Wake-me-up Matcha-Mint Smoothie

My matcha green tea had been languishing in my tea drawer until yesterday. I had forgotten about matcha and its amazing benefits until tossing it in a smoothie was recommended to me (thanks Kirsten!) I had a look around my garden, my frig and my cupboards for inspiration for smoothie ingredients: kale? naaa–too strong with matcha,  . . . kelp? same problem . . . mint? yes!

I began with my usual coconut milk base, added half a frozen banana for sweetness, tossed in a whole kiwi to get that magnesium and fiber, mint leaves for digestion, hemp seeds for protein (and a host of other benefits) and matcha for the incredible benefits of green tea. It looked a little thick so I added some ice.

Loved it! You could easily substitute your favourite fruit. I wanted to make sure I didn’t lose the beautiful green colour, so the kiwi made sense to me.

Matcha Mint Smoothie
Serves: 1
Ingredients

  • 1 cup coconut or almond milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 kiwi, skin and all (if you have a high-speed blender like a Vitamix)
  • 2-3 sprigs of fresh mint
  • 1-2 Tbsp hemp or chia seeds
  • 1 tsp matcha green tea
  • 4 ice cubes

Directions
Toss all in a high-speed blender and blend until creamy and smooth.

This entry was posted in beverages, breakfast, gluten-free, vegetarian meals. Bookmark the permalink.