Easy Zucchini Chips

Easy Zucchini Chips

With an overload of zucchini in my garden (how can something grow so fast?) I am running out of ideas for ways to use this veggie. I’ve made all my favourite recipes and have a freezer full of Zucchini Patties ready for quick winter meals. Today I was NOT happy to find these hiding behind the leaves of my two plants.
too many zucchini
I decided to make another batch of zucchini chips since last week’s batch was inhaled in less than 10 minutes. These chips are easy to prepare and really tasty. Dry them as best you can and you’ll shorten your oven time. Go easy on the oil so they don’t turn out greasy and cut them not too thick but not too thin. Capiche? I found 1/8th inch to be just about right. If they’re too thin, they just crumble. If they’re too thick they take too long to crisp and they don’t really seem like chips.

Easy Oven Zucchini Chips

Ingredients

Directions
Making zucchini chips
1. Slice the zucchini in uniform slices about 1/8 inch thick. A mandolin works best for this task. A large zucchini works well for this recipe as the slices will shrink significantly when baked.
2. Lay the slices on paper towel. Pat them with another paper towel to remove as much moisture as you can.
3. Toss them with a small amount of olive oil. Sprinkle sparingly with salt or other seasonings of your choice.
4. Lay them on parchment paper lined baking sheets, making sure they don’t overlap.
5. Bake at 250F. for about 1 to 1 1/2 hours, turning half way through. Check them occasionally and remove when they are lightly browned and crispy. Cool on a wire rack.
Best eaten right away. Watch them disappear quickly!


This entry was posted in boating or camping food, finger foods, vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Zucchini Chips

  1. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  2. Catherine says:

    Excellent. I have a zuccini in my fridge not knowing what to do. Chips it is!

    • Great! My advice is just like I said in the recipe: pat them dry, go easy on the oil, and don’t plan to store them as they don’t seem to keep their crispiness like store-bought potato chips do. No additives 🙂

Comments are closed.