Mini Saskatoon Berry Jam Pies

Saskatoon Berry Mini Pies

Last week I loaded up my freezer with fresh raspberries. Tomorrow I’ll receive my order of 30 pounds of blueberries that will also be bound for the freezer. We love having berries year round for smoothies, crisps, cobblers, special desserts, or just for snacking. I have a new favourite, however: Saskatoon berries. There is a Saskatoon berry farm just a short drive away from my home so I am lucky to be able to get my hands on fresh-picked berries. Last week I made a batch of jam, just so I could make this pie now and during the winter.

I get a kick out of making little individual desserts–like Shot Glass Cheesecake, Deconstructed Lemon Meringue Pie, and Mini Bundt Cakes and I’m gathering quite a collection of individual pans. I decided to adapt my recipe for Saskatoon Berry Pie and make individual pies for dessert. Success!


Mini Saskatoon Berry Jam Pies

Never Fail Pastry (Makes enough for 2 crust pie or 8 4-inch tart pans.)

  • 2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. chilled butter
  • 1 tbsp. vinegar
  • 1/3 c. milk

Put flour and salt in food processor and pulse. Cube butter, then add to flour in processor bowl and pulse until it resembles coarse meal. Add vinegar to milk. Add all at once to flour mixture. Pulse till it just forms a ball. Remove and divide into two balls. Place on waxed paper or plastic wrap, flatten gently into a disc, top with another layer of wrap, fold over and refrigerate if not using right away. This is a reliable recipe that is true to its name.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup Saskatoon Berry Jam
  • 8 unbaked 4 inch pie shells

Spread the jam in the bottom of the pie shells.

Filling

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/3 cup fine bread or cracker crumbs
  • 1/3 cup sweetened fancy flake coconut
  • 1/8 tsp almond flavouring
  • 3/4 cup ground almonds
  • 3 eggs whites, room temperature, beaten until stiff

Mix all the filling ingredients together, except the egg whites. Fold the beaten egg whites into the filling mixture. Spread over the jam in the pie shells. Bake in 350 degree oven for about 35-40 minutes or until set and firm to touch. Allow to cool thoroughly before serving.

This entry was posted in desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.